Traffic Appeals BoardThis is an administrative committee. The following information is from the Committees page. See also Petitioning Citations


The Traffic Appeals Board was established as the body of final petition for all university traffic disputes. Its inception corresponds to the same year that the university began to implement parking fees. The committee's charge and authority are now contained in Oregon Administrative Rules Chapter 571, Division 10.

The committee continues to meet in accordance with OAR 571-10-20. The committee hears appeals of decisions made by the Traffic Petitions Officer. If any university community member alleges "erroneous or wrongful ticketing or traffic citations on campus," a petition is made to the Traffic Petitions Officer. If said petition is denied, an appeal may be made to the Traffic Appeals Board. The appeal must show that the decision of the Petitions Officer was "unreasonable or arbitrary or was not supported by substantial evidence" (OAR 571-10-20).

The Traffic Appeals Board meets once a month from December until June.

The Office of Public Safety provides the staffing for this committee.


The University Traffic Appeals Board shall consist of two faculty members, two members of the classified staff, and two students. The Chair shall be selected at the first Board meeting each year.


The Traffic Appeals Board shall report to the Vice President for Administration. At a minimum this report shall be in the form of an annual written report submitted by the Committee Chair to the Vice President for Administration and to the President of the University no later than May 31.


(student membership not available)
  • 2001-2002: Sheree Johnson, chair; Cheryl Jordan; Jim Schombert (Phys); Trudi Stuber; Ruth South.
  • 2001-2002: Lynn Buffing, Ron Bloom; Barbara Oppliger, Tracie Nash; Ruth South (convenor).
  • 2002-2003: Ron Bloom, Tracie Nash, Tim King, Karen Chaix, Ruth South.
  • 2003-2004: Ruth South, Convenor, Tim King, Karen Chaix, Stephanie Midkiff, Barbara Oppliger.
  • 2004-2005: Ruth South (Convenor), Stephanie Midkiff, Ellen McCumsey.
  • 2006-2007: Ruth South (Convenor), Andre Moran, Barbara Oppliger, Shirley Brabham.
  • 2007-2008: Shirien Chappell, Library; Susan Brown, Research; Ruth South (Convenor)
  • 2008-2009: Susan Brown; Gerald Tindal; Ex Officio: Ruth South (Convenor).
  • The membership for 2009/2010 is be available on the University Committee Web Page 2009/10 University Committee Web Page. It will be posted to this archival web page in late May 2010.


    last update 14 June 2010 by ms