Skip to content

Professor Karen Jackson Ford
CRWR Program Director
2004 - 2010

 Split-Gut Song
Jean Toomer and
the Poetics of Modernity

 Gender and
the Poetics of Excess
Moments of Brocade

The Karen Jackson Ford Poetry Prize

The Karen Jackson Ford Poetry Prize shall be awarded based on the academic merit of a poem written by a graduate student in the MFA Poetry Program. The first Ford Poetry Prize was given for honoring the "imagination and human cultural geography in the aftermath of displacement, Diaspora, and immigration." The poetry subject, determined by the faculty committee, may change annually and will be announced when the submission period is opened.

All graduate students in the MFA Poetry Program in good standing and who will be returning for the following academic year are eligible to apply.


  • Cover Page: contestant's full name, UO ID, address, phone, UO email, and title(s) of work submitted.
  • Manuscript Header: contestant's UO ID (no name), title of work, and page number.

  • Manuscript Content: up to two (2) poems, typed using a 12-point standard font in black ink only on 8-1/2" x 11" white paper.

Manuscripts will not be returned and those that do not meet these guidelines will be disqualified.

Submission Deadline
Late Winter/early Spring term. Entries must be submitted to 108 Alder Building by noon of the deadline posted.

Selection & Award
This contest is judged by a committee of Creative Writing Program faculty poets chaired by the Program Director. Selection is announced in Spring term, and funds will be disbursed at the beginning of each term in equal installments over the following year fall, winter and spring through Student Accounts. (Balances due may be subtracted from the award amount.)

Lance Patigian


The donor, poet and artist Lance Patigian, is a UO MFA alum who briefly taught poetry at the University of Utah and for the Arizona Commission on Arts and Humanities.  His photographic images and installations have won Best in Show at the Arizona Biennial, the Large Piece Prize from the Temple of Music and Art (Tucson, AZ), and the Acquisition Prize from the University of Texas-Southwestern, Dallas.  Works of his were also exhibited at the El Imparcial Exhibition, Sala José Luis Healy in Hermosillo, Mexico and are in the permanent collection at the Tucson Museum of Art.  He hails from Stanislaus, CA and now resides in Carmel Highlands, CA.



2013 2012 2011 2010  
Alycia Pirmohamed Jessa Heath Julia Dasbach Aziza Akdeniz