Skip to content

Kidd Tutorial


April 11, 2014


Submit to:
Creative Writing Progam
108 Alder Building
(corner of 15th & Alder)


Winners are
announced at
our annual
Reading Series
event in Spring Term.
Winners are not
notified in advance
of the event.

a Kidd fan!



The Walter and Nancy Kidd
Memorial Writing Competition
in Poetry and Fiction

The Walter and Nancy Kidd Memorial Writing Competition in Poetry and Fiction (the "Kidd Competition") is held each spring and is open to all undergraduates currently enroled at the University of Oregon. First, second and third place prizes are awarded in each genre (poetry and fiction). Winners receive a monetary award and a certificate that includes remarks from the competition judge in their genre.

The Creative Writing Program invites two nationally know authors (one poet, one fiction writer) to judge student manuscripts. Past judges have included Mark Jarman, Miriam Gershow, Frederick Busch, B. H. Fairchild, Mark Doty, Rosellen Brown, Mary Gaitskill, Yusef Komunyakaa, Sharon Olds, Gerald Stern, Susan Straight, Edward Hirsch, Charles Baxter, Eavan Boland, Tobias Wolfe, Antonya Nelson, Richard Bausch, Richard Tillinghast, and N. Scott Momaday.


  • Open to all undergraduates currently enrolled at the University of Oregon.
  • Participation in the Kidd Tutorial Program is not required.
  • Submissions previously appearing in University of Oregon publications which showcase undergraduate work (such as UNBOUND) are acceptable; however, all other published work is ineligible.

Entrants may submit in both genres.

  • Poetry: Submit up to two (2) poems.
  • Fiction: Submit one story up to 20 pages (double spaced)

Cover Page
Contest title ("Kidd Prize"), contestant's full name, UO ID, address, phone, UO email, and title(s) of work submitted.

Manuscript Header
Contestant's UO ID (no name), title of work, and page number.

Manuscript Content
Typed using a 12-point standard font in black ink only on 8-1/2" x 11" white paper.

Manuscripts will not be returned and those that do not meet these guidelines will be disqualified.

Submission Deadline
Entries must be submitted to 108 Alder Building by noon of the deadline posted.

Selection & Award
This contest is judged by guest authors participating in the Creative Writing Program's annual Reading Series (Spring term). Winners are announced during the last Reading Series event, so all contestants are encouraged to attend.

All Kidd Tutorial Program scholarships and awards are subject to student need for financial assistance as determined by the Office of Student Financial Aid and Scholarships. All disbursements are made through Student Accounts (balances due may be subtracted from the award amount).

Past Winners

2011 Kidd Prize Winners, from left to right: Debbi Cassidy, Baily Meyers, Ian Geronimo, Kevin Burnside, Maya Rinta, Edward Earl.

2013 Linda Gregerson Poetry
1st prize
2nd prize
3rd prize
Anna Tomlinson
Hilary Ross
Toni Loeffler
"Sauvia Island"
"Alan Turing"
"Stellar Evolution"
  Ehud Havazelet Fiction
1st prize
2nd prize
3rd prize
K Chasmodai Cassidy
Dylan Thompson
Allison Goldstein
"Lenin's Army"
"Everything's Fine"
"Table by the Window"


2012 Andrew Hudgins Poetry
1st prize
2nd prize
3rd prize
Honorable Mention
Lauren Greenhall
Edward Earl
Noelle Petrowski
Roxanne Mckee
"To Sit Across The Sea and Think of Al-Quds"
"All That I Touch"
"Phoenix High Valentine"
  Randall Kenan Fiction
1st prize
2nd prize
3rd prize
Faire Holliday
Rebecca Freeman
Matthew Tellam
"How Cassandra Resurfaces Now and Again"
"Devil in Her Pocket"
"Love is What Love is What Love is"


2011 William Logan
1st prize
2nd prize
3rd prize
Edward Earl
Maya Rinta
Kevin Burnside
"Leaving Sulaymaniyah"
"Dusk Closes In"
"The River Lethe"
  Margot Livesey
1st prize
2nd prize
3rd prize
Ian Geronimo
Bailey Meyers
Debbi Cassidy
"Care and the Era"
"Vulnerant Omnes"
"House of Saints"


2010 Mark Jarman
1st prize
2nd prize
3rd prize
Thomas McCrone
Elissa Hall
Erin Grady
"Sharing History"
"The Cry"
"Conversations Behind Conversations"
  Miriam Gershow
1st prize
2nd prize
Kevin Armstrong
Brenna Crotty


2009 Richard Tillinghast Poetry
1st prize
2nd prize
3rd prize
Anna Nakano-Baker
Nick Bernard
Ross Concillo
"Claire Came Home for New Year's"
"The Arborist"
"Waiting for the Bus at Night"
  Richard Bausch Fiction
1st prize
2nd prize
3rd prize
Kevin Armstrong
Christopher Bradley
Kurt Spickerman
"Camping with Patsy Cline"
"Another Time Capsule"
"Something Like Happiness"


2008 N. Scott Momaday Poetry
1st prize
2nd prize
3rd prize
Joey Eberhart-Garah
Hajara Quinn
Shelly Emerson
 "The Sea & The Island"
 "Country Song"
  Antonya Nelson Fiction
1st prize
2nd prize
3rd prize
Jason Curtis Thayer
Leslee Chan
Benjamin Woods
"My Grocery List"
"Lost Things"

Click here to see winners from previous years.