Skip to content

MFA Program

The Creative Writing Program at the University of Oregon is a two-year in-residence program in which students concentrate in either poetry or fiction. It emphasizes the act of writing, undertaken here in the context of a community of committed practitioners. Our workshops are small and have achieved a history of accomplishment, innovation, and quality.


Financial Support

History of the MFA Program

Established in the 1960s by James B. Hall, the University of Oregon's Creative Writing Program is one of the longest standing in the country. Hall originally designed the program so that the writing workshop would be complemented with graduate courses in literature and other artistic disciplines. Under the direction of Ralph Salisbury and John Haislip, the program subsequently began to emphasize more individual attention in conference hours and moved away from complementary classes in other fields. Upon his arrival in 1989, former director Garrett Hongo redesigned the program along studio lines, emphasizing workshop hours and writing time.

Our list of graduates includes PEN-Hemingway Award winner Chang-rae Lee, Yale Younger Poet winner Brigit Pegeen Kelly, National Poetry Prize winner Eugene Gloria, screenwriter Kenny Moore, and Bilingual Review Poetry Prize winner Andrés Montoya.
Writers such as Robert Wrigley, Elizabeth McCracken, Reetika Vazirani, David Mura, Li-young Lee, James Houston, Lynn Freed, and Cai Emmons have served as visiting faculty.