Skip to content
Broken Gravestone

Faculty

 

Deborah A. Green - Hebrew Language & Literature

Greenberg Associate Professor

Biographical Information

Ph.D., 2003, University of Chicago; M.A., 1997, University of Chicago; B.A., 1984, Brandeis University.

Professor Green's interests lie in the history, literature, and interpretation of the Hebrew Bible, particularly as it was adopted and interpreted by Jews from the Second Temple through Byzantine periods.

Her book, The Aroma of Righteousness: Scent and Seduction in Rabbinic Life and Literature (Penn State University Press, forthcoming) investigates rabbinic interpretation (midrash) of perfume and incense. She is particularly interested in the images of aromatics in the Hebrew Bible and how, in the course of interpretation, the early rabbis inscribe their own daily experience with aromatics upon the interpretations. In her latest project, Professor Green focuses on dangerous and liminal spaces in the Bible and ancient Jewish literature. She is principally interested in the intersection of women and such environments as the garden, the courtyard, and the rooftop - and how the valences of these narratives from biblical literature as well as everyday experience of these spaces are echoed and change in Hellenistic and early rabbinic literature.

Professor Green is also the co-editor of two books, Commemorating the Dead: Texts and Artifacts in Context: Studies of Roman, Jewish, and Christian Burials (Walter de Gruyter, 2008) and Scriptural Exegesis: The Shapes of Culture and the Religious Imagination: Essays in Honour of Michael Fishbane (Oxford University Press, 2009).

Curriculum Vitae

Email: dagreen@uoregon.edu
Phone: (541)346-5974
Office Address: 352 SC
Office hours: On sabbatical 2013-14


Judith R. Baskin - Judaic Studies

Philip H. Knight Professor of Humanities

Associate Dean, Humanities

Judith R. Baskin, Philip H. Knight Professor of Humanities, is Associate Dean for Humanities in the College of Arts and Sciences. 

Professor Baskin served as President of the Association for Jewish Studies from 2004 to the end of 2006. A recipient of the Ph.D. in Medieval Studies from Yale University in 1976, she taught at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst from 1976-88, and at the University at Albany, SUNY, where she was Chair of the Department of Judaic Studies from 1988 to 2000. Dr. Baskin, who has been at the University of Oregon since 2000, was awarded the degree of Doctor of Humane Letters, honoris causa, by the Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion, Los Angeles, in 2012.

Dr. Baskin is the author of Midrashic Women: Formations of the Feminine in Rabbinic Literature (2002) and Pharaoh's Counsellors: Job, Jethro and Balaam in Rabbinic and Patristic Tradition (1983). Her most recent edited volumes are The Cambridge Dictionary of Judaism and Jewish Culture (2011) and The Cambridge Guide to Jewish History, Religion, and Culture (2010), co-edited with Kenneth Seeskin and a 2011 National Jewish Book Award winner. Other edited volumes include Jewish Women in Historical Perspective, now in its second edition (1998), and Women of the Word: Jewish Women and Jewish Writing (1994). Professor Baskin is currently writing a feminist commentary on Tractate Megillah of the Babylonian Talmud.

Curriculum Vitae

Email: jbaskin@uoregon.edu
Phone: (541)346-3902
Office Address: 114 Friendly Hall


Daniel K. Falk - Ancient Judaism and Biblical Studies

Program Director, Professor

Biographical Information

Ph.D., 1996, Cambridge; M.A., 1992, Regent; B.A., 1987, Providence. (1998)

Professor Falk's interests lie in the history and literature of ancient Judaism and the beginnings of Christianity, especially the development of prayer and liturgy, interpretation of scripture, and the formation of religious communities. His research focuses particularly on the Dead Sea Scrolls, which he is involved in translating and reconstructing. He is the author of Daily, Sabbath, and Festival Prayers in the Dead Sea Scrolls (Brill, 1998) and Parabiblical Texts: Strategies for Extending the Scriptures in the Dead Sea Scrolls (T&T Clark/Continuum, 2007). He is co-editor of several other books: Sapiential, Liturgical and Poetical Texts from Qumran (Brill, 2000) and a 3-volume series on the history of penitential prayer entitled Seeking the Favor of God (SBL/Brill, 2006, 2007, 2008). Among numerous articles on the Dead Sea Scrolls, he published the official editions of two manuscripts from Qumran, "4QWorks of God" and "4QCommunal Confession," (in Discoveries in the Judaean Desert 29; Oxford University Press, 1999).

Member, The International Team of Editors of the Dead Sea Scrolls; Editorial Board of the International Organization for Qumran Studies, Editorial Board of the Journal for the Study of the New Testament; the Society of Biblical Literature; Canadian Society of Biblical Studies.

Curriculum Vitae

Personal Site

Email: dfalk@uoregon.edu
Phone: (541)346-4980
Office Address: 349 SC
Office hours: Mondays and Wednesdays 4:00pm-5:00pm


Federica Francesconi

Visiting Assistant Professor

Biographical Information

Ph.D., 2007, University of Haifa; M.A., 1998, University of Bologna; B.A., 1998, University of Bologna.

Federica Francesconi specializes in the cultural and social history of Jews in early modern Europe, paying special attention to Italian Jewish culture. She is currently developing her dissertation into a book, The Wealth of Silver: The Journey of the Modenese Jews from the Renaissance to Emancipation (1598-1814). Francesconi has held fellowships at the University of Pennsylvania, the University of California, Los Angeles, and the University of Oxford. She has just co-edited a special issue of the Journal Jewish History, entitled Tradition and Transformation in Eighteenth-Century Europe: Jewish Integration in Comparative Perspective.

Curriculum Vitae

Email: ffrances@uoregon.edu
Phone: (541)346-5984
Office Address: 354 SC
Office hours: Mondays 4:00pm-5:00pm and Tuesdays 2:00pm-4:00pm


Andrew Riley

Visiting Assistant Professor of Hebrew Bible

Biographical Information

Ph.D., 2010, M.Phil., 2008, Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion; M.A., 2003, B.A., 1999, The Ohio State University

Professor Riley specializes in the interpretation of the Hebrew Bible in the light of textual sources and material culture from the ancient Near East. Within this context, he is interested in negative depictions of the divine. His current research project is a monograph based on his dissertation (Esau I Hated: Perceptions of Divine Hate in the Ancient Near East), which uses as primary sources material from Canaanite documents (Ugaritic), ancient Israel (biblical Hebrew), and Mesopotamia (Akkadian).

He has published book reviews in Review of Biblical Literature and H-Judaic, H-Net Reviews and his contribution to Windows to the Ancient World of the Hebrew Bible: Essays in Honor of Samuel Greengus is in press with Eisenbrauns. Dr. Riley is a member of the Society of Biblical Literature.

An avid teacher, Professor Riley makes it a point to stay abreast of current trends in pedagogy. Prior to coming to the University of Oregon, he taught at Xavier University for several years.

Email: ariley7@uoregon.edu
Office Address: 348 SC
Office hours: Tuesdays and Thursdays 1:00pm-2:00pm and 4:00pm-4:50pm


Adjunct Faculty

 

Annie Caruso, GTF, acaruso@uoregon.edu

      Office: 154A SC

      Office hours: Fridays 11:00am-12:00pm

Maurice Harris, maurice@uoregon.edu

      Office: 367 SC

      Office hours: Not teaching Spring 2014

  


Executive Committee


Monique Balbuena, Honors College, balbuena@uoregon.edu
Maram Epstein, East Asian Languages, maram@uoregon.edu
Daniel Falk, (Chair), Religious Studies, dfalk@uoregon.edu
Deborah A. Green, Religious Studies, dagreen@uoregon.edu
Gina Herrmann, Romance Languages, gah@uoregon.edu
Jeffrey Librett, German & Scandinavian, jlibrett@uoregon.edu
David M. Luebke, History, dluebke@uoregon.edu
David Wacks, Romance Languages, wacks@uoregon.edu
Judith R. Baskin, (Ex-Officio), College of Arts and Sciences, jbaskin@uoregon.edu





Participating Faculty

 

Michael Aronson, English, aronson@uoregon.edu
Diane B. Baxter, Anthropology, dbaxter@uoregon.edu
Monique Balbuena, Clark Honors College, balbuena@uoregon.edu
Shaul E. Cohen, Geography, scohen@uoregon.edu
Rick Colby, Religious Studies, fscolby@uoregon.edu
Matthew Dennis, English, mjdennis@uoregon.edu
Mary-Lyon Dolezal, Art History, mdolezal@uoregon.edu
David Frank, Clark Honors College, dfrank@uoregon.edu
Lisa Freinkel, English, freinkel@uoregon.edu
Miriam Gershow, English, mgershow@uoregon.edu
Marion Sherman Goldman, Sociology, mgoldman@uoregon.edu
Evlyn Gould, Romance Languages, evgould@uoregon.edu
Gantt Gurley, German and Scandinavian, gantt@uoregon.edu
Kenneth I. Helphand, Landscape Architecture, helphand@uoregon.edu
Gina Herrmann, Romance Languages, gah@uoregon.edu
David Hollenberg, Religious Studies, dbh@uoregon.edu
Heidi Kaufman, English, hkaufman@uoregon.edu
Anne Laskaya, English, laskaya@uoregon.edu
Jeffrey Librett, German & Scandinavian, jlibret@uoregon.edu
David Luebke, History, dluebke@uoregon.edu
Jack P. Maddex, History, jmaddex@uoregon.edu
Jennifer Presto, Russian and East European Studies, presto@uoregon.edu
Gina Psaki, Romance Languages, rpsaki@uoregon.edu
Judith Raiskin, Women's and Gender Studies, raiskin@uoregon.edu
Elizabeth Reis, Women's and Gender Studies, lzreis@uoregon.edu
Martha Ravits, Youth Enrichment/TAG Programs, ravits@uoregon.edu
Steven Shankman, English, shankman@uoregon.edu
Carol T. Silverman, Anthropology, csilverm@uoregon.edu
William Toll, History, btoll@uoregon.edu
David Wacks, Romance Languages, wacks@uoregon.edu
Lisa Wolverton, History, lwolvert@uoregon.edu
Mary Wood, English, mewood@uoregon.edu
Naomi Zack, Philosophy, nzack@uoregon.edu