III. Moral Theory and Ethics

As a graduate student, I was attracted to Kantian Moral Philosophy and its contemporary developments and transformations in people like Rawls, Putnam, Hill, and others. However, as I began to learn more about the nature of human mind, thought, and language, I lost all confidence in Kantian claims about apriori knowledge and universal forms of judgment. Rawls had already de-transcendentalized Kantian Moral Theory, and this opened the way to a very different perspective on the sources and nature of moral values. Shortly after I moved to the University of Oregon, I was introduced by my colleague Scott Pratt to Dewey’s Human Nature and Conduct (1922), which transformed my orientation to a pragmatist account that stressed the role of habits and provided a non-absolutist view of moral deliberation as imaginative dramatic rehearsal. I began to explore recent varieties of ethical naturalism to see how well they meshed with what I call second-generation (or embodied) cognitive science. In my book Moral Imagination: Implications of Cognitive Science for Ethics (1993) I tried to summarize my reasons for giving up traditional Moral Law theories and replacing them with a pragmatist account that was more consistent with our scientific understanding of human valuing, deliberation, and judgment. Since that time, I have focused mainly on the intersection of ethical naturalism with current cognitive neuroscience, especially Antonio Damasio’s several books on emotion and homeostasis in the genesis of human values.

Courses:

PHIL 433/533: Topic: Kant Moral Theory

PHIL 614: Issues in Ethics (Recent Moral Theory)