Participating Host List

Hosts listed in RED have been updated for 2010. Hosts listed in black participated in 2009, but have not yet responded for 2010.
If you submit your application before the host list is finalized, we may later ask you to re-select
your preferred host, depending on which labs have signed up for 2010.

Name Research Title URL e-mail/phone
California      
Sossina Haile,
California Institute of Technology
Compatibility of carbide and nitride electrodes with solid acid electrolytes for fuel cell applications http://addis.caltech.edu smhaile@caltech.edu
(626) 395-2958
Susan Kauzlarich
University of California, Davis

Synthesis and Characterization of New Thermoelectric Materials

http://chemgroups.ucdavis.edu/~kauzlarich/index.htm

smkauzlarich@ucdavis.edu
(530) 752-4756

Scott Oliver
University of California, Santa Cruz

  1. Cationic Inorganic Materials for Catalysis and Anion Trapping
  2. Polymer Templating of TiO2 for Solar Cells and Water Splitting
http://chemistry.ucsc.edu/~soliver soliver@chemistry.ucsc.edu
(831) 459-5448
Richard Kaner
University of California, Los Angeles
  1. Synthesis and characterization of ultra-incompressible, superhard transition metal borides
  2. Synthesis and applications of conducting polymer nanofibers
http://www.chem.ucla.edu/dept/Faculty/Ksite/

kaner@chem.ucla.edu
(310) 825-5346

Sarah H. Tolbert
University of California, Los Angeles
Creating novel nanostructures using templated nanoporous materials http://tolbert.chem.ucla.edu/ tolbert@chem.ucla.edu
310-206-4767
Jeff Snyder
California Institute of Technology
Solid state chemistry and physics of novel thermoelectric materials http://www.its.caltech.edu/~jsnyder/thermoelectrics/ jsnyder@caltech.edu
(626) 395-6220
Delaware      
Svilen Bobev
University of Delaware

Synthesis and structural characterization of lanthanide-based silicides and germanides

http://www.udel.edu/chem/bobev/ sbobev@mail.chem.udel.edu
(302) 831-8720
Illinois      
James Ibers
Northwestern University
Adventures in the Solid-State Chemistry of Uranium http://www.chem.northwestern.edu/~ibers/ ibers@chem.northwestern.edu
(847) 467-1798
Mercouri Kanatzidis
Northwestern University
Exploring the crystalline and glassy state in chalcogenides http://www.chem.northwestern.edu/~kanatzidis/ m-kanatzidis@northwestern.edu
(847) 467-1541
Indiana      
Thomas E. Albrecht-Schmitt
University of Notre Dame
Supertetrahedral Cationic Networks: Syntheses, Structures, and Anion Exchange Properties http://chemistry.nd.edu/faculty/detail/talbrec1/ Thomas.E.Albrecht-Schmitt.1@nd.edu
(574) 631-1872
Slavi Sevov
University of Notre Dame
Novel Open Frameworks of Metals, Metal Complexes, or Metal Clusters Interconnected with Multifunctional Linkers

http://www.chem.nd.edu/faculty/detail/ssevov/

Group site: http://ssevov-g5.chem.nd.edu

ssevov@nd.edu
(574) 631-5891
Iowa      
John Corbett
Iowa State University
New Chemistry In Intermetallic Phases. Discovery, Structure, Bonding. http://www.chem.iastate.edu/faculty/John_Corbett/
jcorbett@iastate.edu
(515) 294-3086
Ed Gillan
University of Iowa
Synthesis of porous templated inorganic materials for photocatalytic applications http://www.uiowa.edu/~gillanlb edward-gillan@uiowa.edu
(319) 335-1308
Louisiana      
Julia Chan
Louisiana State University
Crystal Growth of Correlated Intermetallics http://chemistry.lsu.edu/chan jchan@lsu.edu
(225) 578-2695
Massachusetts      
Joanna Aizenberg
Harvard University
  1. Fabrication and functionalization of arrays of nanofiberss
    or
  2. Synthesis of inverse opal titania
http://www.seas.harvard.edu/aizenberg_lab/ jaiz@seas.harvard.edu
(617) 495-3558
Michigan      
Stephanie Brock
Wayne
State University
Nanoscale solid state chemistry of phosphides and chalcogenides: Synthesis, assembly, and properties http://chem.wayne.edu/faculty/brock/index.html sbrock@chem.wayne.edu
(313) 577-3102
Missouri      
Younan Xia
Washington University
Synthesis of Bimetallic Nanocrystals for Fuel Cell Applications http://www.nanocages.com/ xia@biomed.wustl.edu
(314) 935-8328
Sophia E. Hayes
Washington University
Studying defects and photogenerated carriers in semiconductors for solar energy applications" and
"Solid-state NMR studies of photoreactions in molecular crystals
http://www.chemistry.wustl.edu/sophia_hayes hayes@wustl.edu
(314) 935-4624
Nebraska      

Wonyoung Choe
University of Nebraska

Synthesis of Porphyrin Nanostructures http://chem.unl.edu/choe/index.shtml

choe2@unlnotes.unl.edu
(402) 472-0751

New Jersey      
Bob Cava
Princeton University
Synthesis and magnetic properties of 4d and 5d transition metal oxides http://www.princeton.edu/~cavalab/ rcava@princeton.edu
(609) 258-0016
New York      
Michael Ward
New York University

Hydrogen-bonded Frameworks and Functional Materials

http://www.nyu.edu/fas/dept/chemistry/wardgroup/ mdw3@nyu.edu
(212) 998-8439
Peter Khalifah
State University of New York at Stony Brook;
Brookhaven Nat'l Lab.
Improved semiconductor materials for solar water splitting http://www.chem.stonybrook.edu/PGK.html Peter.Khalifah@Stonybrook.edu
(631) 632-7796
North Carolina      
Abdessadek Lachgar
Wake Forest University
  1. Application of the molecular building block approach to the synthesis of multifunctional cluster materials
    or
  2. Hybrid inorganic organic metal phosphates and phosphonates for energy storage applications.
http://www.wfu.edu/chemistry/faculty/AbdessadekLachgarResearch.html lachgar@wfu.edu
(336) 758-4676
Paul Maggard
North Carolina State University

Flux Syntheses Of Transition-Metal Oxide Particles And
Their Photocatalytic Activity

http://www4.ncsu.edu/~pamaggar/ pamaggar@ncsu.edu
(919) 515-3616
Jim Martin
North Carolina State University
  1. Engineering Structure Property Relationships in Inorganic Liquids and Glasses
  2. Probing the Mechanism of Crystal Formation
http://www.ncsu.edu/chemistry/people/jdm.html jdmartin@ncsu.edu
(919) 515-3402
Ohio      
Patrick Woodward
Ohio State
Synthesis and Characterization of New A2MM'O6 Double Perovskites https://web.chemistry.ohio-state.edu/~woodward/ woodward@chemistry.ohio-state.edu
614-688-8274
Oregon      
Douglas A. Keszler
Oregon State University
Maskless Digital Patterning of Solution-Processed Oxide Films http://www.chemistry.oregonstate.edu/personalhomepages/keszler.htm Douglas.Keszler@oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-6736
David C. Johnson
University of Oregon
Controlling properties through nanolaminates with designed structure http://uoregon.edu/~grnchem/davejohnson.html davej@uoregon.edu
(541) 346-4612
Mas Subramanian
Oregon State University
Mixed-Valence Transition Metal Oxides as Functional Materials http://www.chemistry.oregonstate.edu/subramanian/group730/index.htm

Mas.Subramanian@oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-8235

Pennsylvania      

Raymond E. Schaak
The Pennsylvania State University

Chemical Synthesis of New Nanostructured Solid State Materials http://www.chem.psu.edu/faculty/res20

schaak@chem.psu.edu
(814) 865-8600

South Carolina      
Hanno zur Loye
University of South Carolina
Crystal Growth of Platinum Group Metal Oxides (Ru, Os, Ir, Rh, Pd, Pt) from Molten Alkali Metal Hydroxide Fluxes http://www.chem.sc.edu/people/facultyStaffDetails.asp?SID=40 zurloye@mail.chem.sc.edu
(803) 777-6916
Shiou-Jyh Hwu
Clemson University
  1. Synthesis of Cathode Materials for Lithium-Ion Battery Applications
  2. Exploratory Synthesis of Quantum Magnetic Solids
http://chemistry.clemson.edu/people/hwu.htm shwu@clemson.edu
(864) 656-5031
Tennessee      
Janice Musfeldt
University of Tennessee
Optical properties of polar oxides http://web.utk.edu/~musfeldt/ musfeldt@ion.chem.utk.edu
(865) 974-3392
Texas      
Abraham Clearfield
Texas A&M University

Hydrothermally synthesized pyrochlores, their structures and properties

http://www.chem.tamu.edu/faculty/faculty_detail.php?ID=36 clearfield@mail.chem.tamu.edu
(979) 845-2936
P. Shiv Halasyamani
University of Houston
Synthesis and characterization of new oxide materials with piezoelectric properties http://www.chem.uh.edu/Faculty/Halasyamani/
psh@uh.edu
(713) 743-3278
Washington      
Daniel Gamelin
University of Washington
Inorganic Nanostructures for Spintronics and Energy Conversion http://depts.washington.edu/gmrg Gamelin@chem.washington.edu
(206) 685-0901
Washington D.C.      
Christopher Cahill
George Washington University
Synthesis, structural characterization and spectroscopy of f-element hybrid materials http://www.gwu.edu/~cahill cahill@gwu.edu
(202) 994-6959