Participating Host List for Summer 2011
This list is mostly complete for 2011. Hosts with pink italics have not yet been updated.
We will be making final changes to the list on Wednesday, Dec. 15.

Name Research Title URL e-mail/phone
California      
Susan Kauzlarich
University of California, Davis

Synthesis and Characterization of New Thermoelectric Materials

http://chemgroups.ucdavis.edu/~kauzlarich/index.htm

smkauzlarich@ucdavis.edu
(530) 752-4756

Scott Oliver
University of California, Santa Cruz

  1. Cationic Inorganic Materials for Catalysis and Anion Trapping
  2. Polymer Templating of Solar and Water Splitting Cells
http://chemistry.ucsc.edu/~soliver soliver@chemistry.ucsc.edu
(831) 459-5448
Richard Kaner
University of California, Los Angeles
  1. Synthesis of oriented films of conducting polymers and graphene
  2. Synthesis and characterization of ultra-incompressible, superhard borides
http://www.chem.ucla.edu/dept/Faculty/kaner/

kaner@chem.ucla.edu
(310) 825-5346

Jeff Snyder
California Institute of Technology
Solid state chemistry and physics of novel thermoelectric materials http://www.thermoelectrics.caltech.edu/ jsnyder@caltech.edu
(626) 395-6220
Colorado      
Eric Toberer
Colorado School of Mines
Novel semiconductoring materials for photovoltaics and thermoelectrics http://physics.mines.edu/people/phpfiles/toberer.php etoberer@caltech.edu
(541) 913-2721
Delaware      
Svilen Bobev
University of Delaware

Synthesis and structural characterization of lanthanide-based silicides and germanides

http://www.udel.edu/chem/bobev/ sbobev@mail.chem.udel.edu
(302) 831-8720
Illinois      
James Ibers
Northwestern University
Adventures in the Solid-State Chemistry of Uranium http://www.chem.northwestern.edu/~ibers/ ibers@chem.northwestern.edu
(847) 491-5449
Mercouri Kanatzidis
Northwestern University
Synthesis of new materials for energy applications http://chemgroups.northwestern.edu/kanatzidis/ m-kanatzidis@northwestern.edu
(847) 467-1541
Indiana      
Thomas E. Albrecht-Schmitt
University of Notre Dame
New Materials for Trapping Radioactive Elements http://chemistry.nd.edu/faculty/detail/talbrec1/ Thomas.E.Albrecht-Schmitt.1@nd.edu
(574) 631-1872
Iowa      
Ed Gillan
University of Iowa
Precursor Routes to Solid State Materials for Catalytic Applications http://www.uiowa.edu/~gillanlb edward-gillan@uiowa.edu
(319) 335-1308
Louisiana      
Julia Chan
Louisiana State University
Crystal Growth of Novel Materials for Magnetic Applications http://chemistry.lsu.edu/chan jchan@lsu.edu
(225) 578-2695
Michigan      
Stephanie Brock
Wayne
State University
Nanoscale solid state chemistry of phosphides and chalcogenides: Synthesis, assembly, and properties http://chem.wayne.edu/faculty/brock/index.html sbrock@chem.wayne.edu
(313) 577-3102
Minnesota      
Andreas Stein
University of Minnesota
Templating of Porous Solids for Energy Applications http://www.chem.umn.edu/groups/stein/ a-stein@umn.edu
(612) 624-1802
Missouri      
Younan Xia
Washington University
Synthesis of Bimetallic Nanocrystals for Fuel Cell Applications http://www.nanocages.com/ xia@biomed.wustl.edu
(314) 935-8328
Sophia E. Hayes
Washington University

Solid-state NMR for Materials Science: NMR of protons and C-13, but also Al-27, Cd-113, Ga-71 ... you name it.

http://www.chemistry.wustl.edu/sophia_hayes hayes@wustl.edu
(314) 935-4624
Nebraska      

Wonyoung Choe
University of Nebraska

Bioinspired Metal-Organic Frameworks http://www.chem.unl.edu/choe/research.shtml

choe2@unlnotes.unl.edu
(402) 472-0751

New York      
Michael Ward
New York University
  1. Crystallization of Mesoscopic Objects or
  2. Customized Hydrogen-bonded Molecular Host Frameworks
http://www.nyu.edu/fas/dept/chemistry/wardgroup/ mdw3@nyu.edu
(212) 998-8439
Peter Khalifah
State University of New York at Stony Brook;
Brookhaven Nat'l Lab.
Improved semiconductor materials for solar water splitting http://www.chem.stonybrook.edu/PGK.html Peter.Khalifah@Stonybrook.edu
(631) 632-7796
North Carolina      
Paul Maggard
North Carolina State University

Flux Syntheses Of Transition-Metal Oxide Particles And Their Photocatalytic Activity

http://www4.ncsu.edu/~pamaggar/ pamaggar@ncsu.edu
(919) 515-3616
Jim Martin
North Carolina State University
  1. Engineering Structure Property Relationships in Inorganic Liquids and Glasses
  2. Probing the Mechanism of Crystal Formation
http://www.ncsu.edu/chemistry/people/jdm.html jdmartin@ncsu.edu
(919) 515-3402
Abdessadek Lachgar
Wake Forest University

Solid Acid Catalysts for Biofuels production from inexpensive feedstock.

http://www.wfu.edu/chemistry/faculty/AbdessadekLachgarResearch.html lachgar@wfu.edu
(336) 758-4676
Ohio      
Patrick Woodward
Ohio State University
Exploring the impact of cation ordering on the magnetic properties of double perovskites http://woodward.group.chemistry.ohio-state.edu/ woodward@chemistry.ohio-state.edu
(614) 688-8274
Oregon      
Douglas A. Keszler
Oregon State University
Maskless Digital Patterning of Solution-Processed Oxide Films http://www.chemistry.oregonstate.edu/personalhomepages/keszler.htm Douglas.Keszler@oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-6736
David C. Johnson
University of Oregon
Controlling properties through nanolaminates with designed structure http://uoregon.edu/~grnchem/davejohnson.html davej@uoregon.edu
(541) 346-4612
Mas Subramanian
Oregon State University
Inorganic Functional Materials by Design: Superconductors http://www.chemistry.oregonstate.edu/subramanian/

Mas.Subramanian@oregonstate.edu
(541) 737-8235

Pennsylvania      

Raymond E. Schaak
The Pennsylvania State University

Chemical Synthesis of New Nanostructured Solid State Materials http://research.chem.psu.edu/resgroup/

schaak@chem.psu.edu
(814) 865-8600

South Carolina      
Hanno zur Loye
University of South Carolina
Crystal Growth of Platinum Group Metal Oxides (Ru, Os, Ir, Rh, Pd, Pt) from Molten Alkali Metal Hydroxide Fluxes http://www.chem.sc.edu/people/facultyStaffDetails.asp?SID=40 zurloye@mail.chem.sc.edu
(803) 777-6916
Shiou-Jyh Hwu
Clemson University
  1. Synthesis of Cathode Materials for Lithium-Ion Battery Applications
  2. Exploratory Synthesis of Quantum Magnetic Solids
http://chemistry.clemson.edu/people/hwu.htm shwu@clemson.edu
(864) 656-5031
Tennessee      
Janice Musfeldt
University of Tennessee
Optical properties of polar oxides http://web.utk.edu/~musfeldt/ musfeldt@ion.chem.utk.edu
(865) 974-3392
Texas      
Abraham Clearfield
Texas A&M University

Surface Functionalization of Layered Materials: Reactive Nanoparticles for Drug Delivery and Janus Particle Preparation

http://www.chem.tamu.edu/faculty/faculty_detail.php?ID=36&bc=alpha clearfield@mail.chem.tamu.edu
(979) 845-2936
P. Shiv Halasyamani
University of Houston
Synthesis and characterization of new oxide materials with piezoelectric properties http://www.chem.uh.edu/Faculty/Halasyamani/
psh@uh.edu
(713) 743-3278
Washington      
Daniel Gamelin
University of Washington
Inorganic Nanostructures for Spintronics and Energy Conversion http://depts.washington.edu/gmrg Gamelin@chem.washington.edu
(206) 685-0901
Washington D.C.      
Christopher Cahill
George Washington University
Synthesis, structural characterization and spectroscopy of f-element hybrid materials http://www.gwu.edu/~cahill cahill@gwu.edu
(202) 994-6959