Finlandia, Op. 26

Jean Sibelius/Roesch (1865–1957)

Apocalyptic Brass

Michael Grose & Henry Henniger, co-conspirators

Tenor trombone: Seth Arnold, John Church,

Dan Hartley, Matt Hettwer, Taylor Noah, Kyle Raze

Bass Bone: Jojoe Nujoy, Brendan Prendergast,

Marisa Smith, Jacob Rosevear

Euphonium: Michael Banks, Megan Blythe,

Cameron Jerde, Brian McGoldrick, Adam Mullen,

Justin Stowe, Scott Yorke

Tuba: Jonathan Bridges, Mark Cooney, Donald Dixon,

Charlie Iawata, Stacer McChesney, Gavin Milligan,

Joseph Ready, Nathan Stokes, Sean Turner,

Derek White, Stephen Young

* * *

Recording of UO concerts without prior permission is prohibited.

If you are in the company of a small child or someone who may inadvertently cause distractions, kindly sit near a rear exit and be prepared to leave in a timely fashion. Please respect our artists and your fellow concert patrons. House management reserves the right to request exiting the hall when appropriate.

112th Season, 70th program



SCHOOL OF MUSIC AND DANCE

Beall Concert Hall 8:15 p.m.

Monday evening May 7, 2012

ALL THAT BRASS

featuring

UO TRUMPET ENSEMBLE

Brian McWhorter, director

UO HORN ENSEMBLE

Lydia Van Dreel, director

SOMD HONORS BRASS QUINTET

UO BRASS ENSEMBLE

Henry Henniger, director

UO TROMBONE CHOIR

Henry Henniger, director

UO TUBA/EUPHONIUM ENSEMBLE

Michael Grose, director

APOCALYPTIC BRASS

Michael Grose & Henry Henniger, co-conspirators

PROGRAM

Star Spangled Banner

arr. Rod Harkins

Asterism

Evan Paul (b. 1981)

UO Trumpet Ensemble Josh Silva, Javier Contreras, Scott Edward, Tyler Boorman

Nocturne from

F. Mendelssohn/Martinet

Midsummer Night's Dream

(1809-1847)

Guest Conductor: Mara Liechty

Concertino, Op. 94

D. Shostakovich/Emerson

(1906-1975)

UO Horn Ensemble Horn: Jillian Furman, Mara Liechty, Charles Frojen, Kelsi McGlothin, Susan Anderson, Jarek Bartels,

Margarite Waddell, Bret Eason, Matthew Cardiel, Arryn Bess, Jenny Mendoza, Becca Olason, Scott Meyers, Jonathan Morgan, Amos Heifner Tuba: Charles Nickles

Brass Quintet

Arthur Frackenpohl

I. March

(b. 1924)

II.Blues

III. Rondo

SOMD Honors Brass Quintet Ryan Lewis, trumpet Scott Edward, trumpet Kelsi McGlothin, horn John Church, trombone Joseph Ready, tuba Parade of the Charioteers from *Ben-Hur*

Miklos Roza/Olenick (1907–1995)

UO Brass Ensemble

Horn: Jillian Furman, Margarite Waddell,

Amos Heifner, Jarek Bartels

Trumpet: Scott Edward, Josh Silvia

Trombone: Nathan Walyer, Dan Hartley, Jojoe Nujoy

Euphonium: Michael Banks

Tuba: Stacer McChesney, Gavin Milligan

Saturn from *The Planets*

Gustav Holst/Malmstrom

(1874 - 1934)

Golliwog's Cakewalk

Claude Debussy/Hristov

(1862-1918)

Trombone Choir

Tenor trombone: Seth Arnold, John Church, Dan Hartley, Matt Hettwer, Taylor Noah, Kyle Raze Bass Bone: Jojoe Nujoy, Brendan Prendergast,

Marisa Smith, Jacob Rosevear

Canzon septimi toni No. 2

Giovanni Gabrielli/Forbes

(1554-1612)

"Eupher's" Holiday

LeRoy Anderson/Olenick (1908–1975)

John Church, Scott Yorke, Adam Mullen

The Themes of Star Trek

arr. Adam Mullen

UO Tuba-Euphonium Ensemble ("Teuph")

Michael Grose, director

Euphonium: Michael Banks, Megan Blythe, John Church, Cameron Jerde, Brian McGoldrick,

Adam Mullen, Justin Stowe, Scott Yorke

Tuba: Jonathan Bridges, Mark Cooney, Donald Dixon,

Charlie Iawata, Stacer McChesney, Gavin Milligan,

Joseph Ready, Nathan Stokes, Sean Turner,

Derek White, Stephen Young