

OcTUBAfest

Fall 2016

The UO Tuba/Euphonium Ensemble (Teuph)

Mike Grose, conductor

Recording of UO concerts and events without prior permission is prohibited.

Performances sponsored by the UO School of Music and Dance are sometimes video recorded and photographed for a variety of uses, including both live simulcast and digital archive on the UO website, or for publicity and publications. Images of audience members may be included in these recordings and photos. By attending this event, audience members imply approval for the use of their image by the UO and the School of Music and Dance.

Beall Concert Hall
Thursday, Oct. 27, 2016 | 7:30 p.m.

PROGRAM

Concerto No. 1 for Horn in Eb, Op. 11 R. Strauss (1864-1949)

1. Allegro

Michael Grose, tuba

Violin Concerto F. Mendelssohn (1809-1847)

2. Andante (excerpt)

Lillia Younker, tuba

On the Lake J. Brahms/Dishinger

(1833-1897)

Jake Logsdon, tuba

Air Gai Gabriel P. Berlioz/Voxman

(1916-2007)

Preston Wysopal, euphonium

Yorkshire Ballad James Barnes

(b. 1949)

Michael Blomenkamp, euphonium

The Swan from Carnival of the Animals C. Saint-Saens/Mead

(1835-1921)

Samantha Gilkey, euphonium

Concerto for Tuba Edward Gregson

(b. 1945)

II. Lento e mesto

Juan Valdez, tuba

Concerto in One Movement for Tuba

Alexey Lebedev
(1924-1993)

Noe Aguilar Lopez, tuba

BRIEF INTERMISSION

Bouree from Flute Partita in A minor J.S. Bach

(1685-1750)

Clare Brennan, tuba

Fantasy Pieces, Op. 73 Robert Schumann

(1810 - 1856)

I. Zart und mit Ausdruck

Andrew Eason, tuba

Flower Duet from Lakme L. Delibes/Frey

(1815-1910)

Charles Demonnin, euphonium
Clare Brennan, tuba

Concerto for Euphonium Joseph Horovitz

(b. 1926)

I. Moderato

Tom Janssen, euphonium

March for the Prince of Wales F. J. Haydn/Skip Gray

Quad Squad

Der Wegweiser Franz Schubert/Gray

Schubertiade Quartet

Canzon Duodecimi Toni Giovanni Gabriel/Thurman

UO Tuba-Euphonium Ensemble ("Teuph") Michael Grose, director

EUPHONIUM

Penn Armstrong, Michael Blomenkamp, Charles Demonnin, James Garney, Samantha Gilkey, Elyse Hawthorne, Tom Janssen, Preston Wysopal

TUBA

Clare Brennan, Andrew Eason, Connor Fugier, Jake Logsdon, Noe Aguilar Lopez, David Martinez, Juan Valdez, Derek White, Lillia Younker