SCHOOL OF MUSIC COMING EVENTS

For more information on any of these events, or to be on the UO Music mailing list, call the music school's Community Relations Office, weekdays, at 346-5678.

Wednesday, April 20

8:00pm—Duke Ellington Birthday Celebration

Thursday, April 21

8:15pm—Austin Sommerfield, Tuba (Senior)

Thursday, April 28

7:00pm—UO Chamber Choir

Friday, April 29

7:30pm—The Jazz Cafe

8:00pm—UO Opera: "Senile Madness"

Saturday, April 30

5:00pm—[m] Concert

7:00pm—UO Opera: "Senile Madness"

8:00pm—Future Music Oregon

Sunday, May 1

1:00pm—Alane Thayer, Clarinet (Senior)

2:00pm—Toby Koenigsberg, Jazz Piano

Monday, May 2

6:00pm—Amanda Christensen, Soprano (Doctoral)

Tuesday, May 3

8:00pm—Pacific Rim Gamelan

8:15pm—Tara Caitlin Schwab, Flute (Doctoral)

Wednesday, May 4

6:30pm—Paul Krueger, Jazz (Lecture Recital)

* * *

111th Season, 81st program



SCHOOL OF MUSIC AND DANCE

Beall Concert Hall 3:00 p.m.

Sunday afternoon April 17, 2011

THE UNIVERSITY SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA CONCERTO CONCERT

Wayne Bennett, director

featuring

Sean O'Neal, violin Svetlana Kotova, Piano



PROGRAM

From *Concerto F in D Major*, Op. 35 for Violin

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840 - 1893)

I. Allegro Moderato

Sean O'Neal, violin

INTERMISSION

Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, Op. 43 Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873 - 1943)

Svetlana Kotova, piano

* * *

Recording of UO concerts without prior permission is prohibited.

If you are in the company of a small child or someone who may inadvertently cause distractions, kindly sit near a rear exit and be prepared to leave in a timely fashion. Please respect our artists and vour fellow concert patrons. House management reserves the right to request exiting the hall when appropriate.

UNIVERSITY SYMPHONY PERSONNEL

Violin I Lois Geertz** Halev Engle Mark Rockwood Bryce Caster Sigrid Karlstrom Olivia Baker Nicole Bernath Christopher Scherer Olivia Davis Abby Young

Violin II Sidran Olson* Mike Weiland Christopher Stark Noah Ienkins Sophia Clark Chen-Yun Yang Daniel Shaver Martin Kwon

Viola Tvler Hendrickson* Merietta Oviatt Erin Rolan Brian Ki

Lesslie Nuñez

Sophie Lott

Justin Lader Steffen Schmidt Holland Phillips Avery Pratt Tiffany Kettel

Connor Sheehan

Cello Iared Carlson* Austin Bennett Brendan Warren Chen Xue Sophia Borgias Matt Cartmill Pecos Singer River Ramuglia **Emily Collins**

Bass Carl Egbert* Kyle Sanborn Austin Haag Corey Adkins Marissa Ochsner

Flute Esther Fredrickson* **Emily Imhoff** Emily McPherson

Oboe Ieremy Curtis* Cara Pfund Leslie Treber

Clarinet Alane Thaver* Clarissa Osborn*

Bassoon Joey Hartman* Brian McKee*

Horn Rebecca Olason* Caitlin Brody Susan Anderson

Lucy Ohlsen (asst)

Mara Liechty

Trumpet Javier Contreras* Tony Tunzat Casev Riley

Trombone Matt Hettwer* I I Mever Brendan Prendergast

Tuba Sean Turner*

Harp Rachel Miller* Kelly Hoff

Timpani Matt Keown*

Percussion Paul Owen* Grant Pierce Torrin Rosegold Patrick Neff

^{**}Concertmaster

^{*}Principal/Co-Principal