Th e Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Concern Committee

  • See also
  • The following information is taken from Motion US00/01-6 which revises the charges to the standing University Committees.





    The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Concerns Committee shall be responsible for:a) Creating a safe and secure campus for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender persons: b) Fostering asense of community among lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people at the University of Oregon; c) Working to eliminate all types of discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity in university programs, facilities, and services; and, d) Sponsoring and encouraging educational programs that promote increased tolerance and understanding onissues of sexual and gender diversity.The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Concerns Committee is staffed by the Office of Student Life.


    The regular membership of the committee shall consist of 4 faculty, 4 staff, and 4 students; student members shall serve one-year terms.The committee shall also include 4 ex-officio non-voting members, representing the Department of Public Safety, Academic Advising, Human Resources, and University Housing.The committee shall appoint two co-chairs from among its members.The committee shall establish such subcommittees as necessary and invite other members of the university community to join these subcommittees.The committee shall make every effort to maintain an appropriate balance of teaching faculty, Officers of Administration, and classified staff.The committee should seek adequate representation in its membership of those persons who are openly gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender as well as people of color and other underrepresented groups.


    The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Concerns Committee shall report to the University Administration and to the University Senate. At a minimum the report to the University Senate shall be in the form of an annual written report submitted by the Committee Chair to the Secretary of the University Senate no later than the final University Senate meeting in May. The committee shall also make additional written or oral reports to the Senate as necessary.

    See also US01/02-4 which is a process for filling vacancies on elected committees:

    7.1 Since 1991-92, all non-elected committees established by faculty legislation are appointed by the Committee on Committees, a committee appointed by the University Senate. The Secretary of the Faculty shall coordinate the elections of faculty to elective committees. The secretary shall arrange for the filling of vacancies on elected committees and councils by notifying the next eligible candidate, determined in descending order of the number of votes received in the most recent election for the relevant committee or council. If no eligible candidate is available to fill the vacancy, the Senate Executive Committee, with advice and recommendations from the Committee on Committees, shall appoint an eligible faculty member to fill the vacancy until the next regular election cycle. Filling a vacancy shall not preclude the appointee from standing for election to the same committee or council during the next election cycle if eligible.


    (Student membership not available)
    Web page spun on 11 May 2009 by Peter B Gilkey 202 Deady Hall, Department of Mathematics at the University of Oregon, Eugene OR 97403-1222, U.S.A. Phone 1-541-346-4717 of Deady Spider Enterprises