Protection of Human Subjects --

This committee has split into two different committees. More information will be available presently:

The purpose of the University of Oregon appointed Committee for the Protection of Human Subjects (CPHS) is to safeguard the rights and welfare of human subjects who participate in research and other activity projects conducted by, or under the supervision of, faculty, staff, or students. To carryout this responsibility effectively, the University maintains two separate and independent Institutional Review Boards: Panel #1 (IRB #1) Social/Behavioral and Panel #2 (IRB #2) Biomedical. The panels review research, training, and other activity protocols, funded or unfunded, involving human subjects to evaluate both risk and protection against risk for participants. It is the function of the Office for the Protection of Human Subjects and the CPHS to 1) determine and certify that all projects reviewed by the CPHS conform to the regulations and policies set forth by all applicable federal state, and institutional regulations and policies regarding the health, welfare, safety, rights, and privileges of human subjects; and 2) assist the investigator in complying with federal regulations in a way that permits accomplishment of the research activity.

The University of Oregon assures that all of its activities related to human subjects research, regardless of funding source, will be guided by the ethical principles in the Belmont Report (1979): respect for persons, beneficence and justice. The application of these general principles lead to consideration of the following requirements: informed consent, risk/benefit assessment, and the selection of subjects in research.

The CPHS/IRB aims to provide a service to the University and the public by facilitating ethical treatment of research subjects while at the same time supporting the investigator's endeavor to advance knowledge.


  • 2004-2005: Deborah Olson, (Chair); Jean Stockard, PPPM (Vice Chair); Richard Albin, Special Ed; Holly Arrow, Psychology; Ben Douglas, Health Center; Art Farley, Computer & Info Science; Juliana Kyrk (coordinator), Office of Human Subjects Compliance; Robert Mauro, Psychology; Marilyn Nippold, Communication Disorders & Science; Jeffrey Todahl, Counseling Psychology and Human Services; Deanne Unruh, Special Ed; community members: Ron Chase, Denis McCarthy, Charles Stephens, Mary Ellen West.
  • 2005-2006: Deborah Olson (Chair); Jean Stockard, PPPM (Vice Chair); Richard Albin, Holly Arrow, Ben Douglas, Art Farley, Juliana Kyrk (coordinator), Robert Mauro, Marilyn Nippold, Jeffrey Todahl, Deanne Unruh; community members: Ron Chase, Denis McCarthy, Charles Stephens, Mary Ellen West.
  • 2006-2007: Deborah Olson (Chair), Jeffrey Todahl (Vice Chair), Richard Albin, Ben Douglas, John Halliwill, Juliana Kyrk, William MacMaster, Robert Mauro, Geraldine Moreno, Marilyn Nippold, Anne Simons, Deanne Unru, Ed Vogel, Ron Chase, Charles Stephens, Mary Ellen West, Lynette Schenkel.
  • 2007-2008:
  • 2008-2009
  • The membership for 2009/2010 may be available on the University Committee Web Page 2009/10 University Committee Web Page. It will be posted to this archival web page in late May 2010.
  • Web page spun on 28 September 2008 by Peter B Gilkey 202 Deady Hall, Department of Mathematics at the University of Oregon, Eugene OR 97403-1222, U.S.A. Phone 1-541-346-4717 of Deady Spider Enterprises