UO's Doe and Rothbart join American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Two University of Oregon scientists, Christopher Doe and Mary K. Rothbart,  are among the newly elected members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one the nation's most prestigious honorary societies and a leading center for independent policy research.

Christopher DoeMary K. RothbartThis year's new members are among the world's most accomplished leaders from academia, business, public affairs, the humanities and the arts. The 2014 class includes Nobel, Wolf and Pulitzer prize winners, recipients of the MacArthur, Guggenheim and Fulbright fellowships, and the Grammy, Emmy, Oscar and Tony awards.

Doe is a professor of biology and is a member of the UO's Institute of Neuroscience and Institute of Molecular Biology. He also is a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator.

Doe studies the development of the central nervous system, and, in particular, how stem cells make neurons. Much of his research is done using fruit flies and zebra fish. He earned a bachelor's degree in developmental biology at New College of Florida in Sarasota and a doctorate in developmental neurobiology at Stanford University.

Rothbart is a professor emerita of psychology but still active in research in developmental psychology at the UO. A parent-report tool that she introduced in 1981, the Infant Behavior Questionnaire, is now one the most widely employed measures of infant temperament. She also has done extensive laboratory work on the early development of the emotions, activity and attention.

In 2009, Rothbart received the 2009 Gold Medal for Life Achievement in the Science of Psychology from the American Psychological Foundation. She holds a bachelor's degree from Reed College and a doctorate from Stanford University.

The new class will be inducted at a ceremony Oct. 11 at the headquarters of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in Cambridge, Mass. The current membership includes more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.