V. Philosophy of Language / Metaphor

At the University of Chicago as a doctoral student I was introduced to the dominant analytic philosophy of language, beginning with Frege and culminating, at that time, in the new work of Davidson and Rorty. I never took to analytic philosophy of language, which seemed to me to have little to do with actual human meaning and communication. I had the good fortune to take Ted Cohen’s J.L. Austin course, which introduced me to speech act theory and linguistic philosophy. This also connected up with my interest in Wittgenstein from my undergraduate days at the University of Kansas. In 1974 I had the privilege of taking a course called Metaphor and Symbol, co-taught by Paul Ricoeur and David Tracy. That was my introduction to the importance of metaphor, and this led me to Ted Cohen’s presentations on metaphor in his classes. I had originally thought of writing my dissertation on metaphor in religious language, but under the guidance of Ricoeur and Cohen, I came to focus more broadly on the cognitive status of metaphor as an irreducible process of meaning-making.