Home Officers Alumni Benefit Undergrads
Join! Awards Gallery Outreach JUMP!

Congratulations to our 2016-17 UOWGS Award Winners

Karfilis Women in Leadership Award:
Annie Greenaway

Travel Award:
Jessica Kosie
Brianna Meier
Angie Michaiel

Sara Staggs Undergraduate Transition Award:
Annie Gilbert

Undergraduate Summer Research Award:
Sabrina Haskinson
Allison Zhou

Learn more about the winners here:

It appears you don't have a PDF plugin for this browser. No biggie... you can click here to download the PDF file.

Karfilis Women in Leadership Award

The Karfilis Leadership Award, named in honor of past UOWGS president Kate Karfilis, is a $5000 award which recognizes graduate students at the University of Oregon who have demonstrated strong dedication to the mission of the professional development of women in all disciplines of science to enable them to become successful contributors to their fields through exemplary leadership. Those who have actively supported the advancement of women in science are eligible to apply.

UOWGS Travel Award

The UOWGS Travel Award is a $1000 award to help defray the cost of presenting either a talk or a poster at a conference. It is awarded to two graduate students per year and is open to UOWGS members.

UOWGS Parenting Award

The UOWGS Parenting Award is a $1200 award intended to assist parents in raising a child while meeting the high demands of a graduate program in the sciences. One student per year will receive this award. Preference will be given to single parents and parents of children under 5 years of age.

UOWGS Sara J. Staggs Undergraduate Transition Award

The Sara J. Staggs Undergraduate Award, named in honor of our founder, is intended to assist undergraduates in their transition from undergraduate to graduate education. Preference will be given to female undergraduates. The award is $300.

UOWGS Undergraduate Summer Research Award

The UOWGS Undergraduate Summer Research Award is a $500 award offered to students wishing to gain research experience in order to advance their scientific development. Two UO undergraduates (or recent graduates) planning on working in a lab for the summer will be awarded the scholarship.

The Selection Process

All award materials will be complied and reviewed by a section committee which consists of faculty representatives from chemistry, biology, physics, a post doctoral student, and an outside member. Each application will be judged by the content, and all members are strongly encouraged to apply regardless of involvement level in UOWGS. Undergraduate awards do not require WGS membership to apply. Graduate level awards do require WGS membership, but the $5 dues may be turned in with the application.

Award funding is jointly provided by ASUO and the Graduate School, except the Karfilis Leadership Award, which comes from a generous donation by the Karfilis Family. Former awardees are listed at the bottom of the page. If you have any questions about the selection process please feel free to contact us.

Prior winners

Congratulations to recipients of the 2016 UOWGS Awards

Karfilis Women in Leadership Award:
Jaclyn Kellon

Travel Award:
Fern Bosada
Madison Myers

Parenting Award:
Denielle Perry

Sara Staggs Undergraduate Transition Award:
Eva Biedron

Undergraduate Summer Research Award:
Thomas Forman
Lindy Comrada

Congratulations to recipients of the 2015 UOWGS Awards

Travel Award:
Megan Brittell
Jennifer Mendoza

Parenting Award:
Terra Hiebert

Sara Staggs Undergraduate Transition Award:
Marina Gross

Undergraduate Summer Research Award:
Devan Compton
Kyla Martichuski

Congratulations to recipients of the 2014 UOWGS Awards

Travel Award:
Kara Nell
Samantha Sommers

Parenting Award:
Ryan Hansen

Sara Staggs Undergraduate Transition Award:
Lindsay Guzman

Undergraduate Summer Research Award:
Megan Brunn
Deborah Wang