The Phillips lab works as an integrated team in which scientists with diverse backgrounds work on their own projects and also held each other to implement innovative approaches to solving complex problems.

 

Phillips Laboratory

people

Patrick Phillips
Professor, Department of Biology
Associate Vice President for Research


Evolution of complex traits and gene interaction systems. Evolution of sex, aging, behavior, and stress response.

 

Postdocs

Jennifer Anderson
jennia@uoregon.edu

Evolution of sex and mating systems. Genetic basis of male maintenance within C. elegans populations.
Website

 

 

Janna Fierst
jfierst@uoregon.edu

Evolution of genetic networks. Influence of epistasis on molecular evolution. Genomics and bioinformatics using next generation sequencing.

 

Rose ReynoldsRose Reynolds
reynolds@uoregon.edu

Evolution of aging and stress response. Mapping of genes responsible for individual variation in longevity. Experimental evolution of stress response in mulitple environments.

 

John Willis
jhwillis@uoregon.edu

Molecular genetics of natural variation in stress response. Natural variation in transcription factor binding.

 

 

Graduate Students

Heather Archer
archer@uoregon.edu

Stress and the response to pathogenic bacteria

 

 

Bryn Gaertner
bgaertner@uoneuro.uoregon.edu

Genetic basis of natural variation of thermosensory response in C. elegans. Molecular quantitative genetics and neurophysiology.

 

Research assistants

Tim Ahearne
tahearne@uoregon.edu

Genetic basis for natural variation in longevity. Genomic resources for C. remanei.

 

 

Emily Ebel
ebel@uoregon.edu

Genetic basis of sexual conflict and male mating in C. remanei

 

 

Undergraduates

Anna Beth Crist
annac@uoregon.edu

Natural soil microcosms for investigating nematode-bacteria interactions.

 

 

Sarah M. Mete
mete@uoregon.edu

Experimental evolution of stress response in C. remanei

 

 

Kate Cituarte
cituarte@uoregon.edu

Effects of maternal and larval environment on stress response. Influence of laboratory adaptation on stress response.

 

 

Chadwick M. Smith
chadwick@uoregon.edu

Experimental evolution of stress response. Genetics of male mating ability in C. elegans

 

 

Hannah Jarman-Miller
jarmanmi@uoregon.edu

Genetic basis of natural variation in stress response and longevity in C. remanei